Countdown to the 2023 Parade 
(Days : Hours : Minutes : Seconds)

1 / 20
2 / 20
3 / 20
4 / 20
5 / 20
6 / 20
7 / 20
8 / 20
9 / 20
10 / 20
11 / 20
12 / 20
13 / 20
14 / 20
15 / 20
16 / 20
17 / 20
18 / 20
19 / 20
20 / 20


The 2024 Parade will be held on Sunday March 10, 2024, not March 17

2023  Award Winners 

Philadelphia Saint Patrick's Day Observance Association Proudly Announces Congratulations to Philadelphia Saint Patrick's Day Parade Award Winners

Hon. James H.J. Tate 
(Founded in 1980)
Outstanding Organization that Exemplifies the Spirit of the Parade 
Sponsored by: Mike Driscoll
2023 Philadelphia Federal Credit Union

Msgr. Thomas J. Rilley Award
 (Founded 1979)
Outstanding Fraternal Organization
Sponsored by: AOH Division 39 Msgr. Thomas J. Rilley
2023 Cairdeas Irish Brigade

George Costello Award (Founded 1979) 
(This was named the Jim Enright Award Prior to 1986)
Outstanding Float in the Parade
Sponsored by: The Irish Society
2023  The Friendly Sons & Daughters of St. Patrick

Hon. Vincent A. Carroll Award (Founded 1979)
(This was the William T. Letino Award in 1979)
Outstanding Musical Band:
Sponsored by: 
St. Patrick’s Day Observance Association Board
2023 Philadelphia Police & Fire Pipes and Drums Band

Anthony J. Ryan Award (Founded 1990)
Outstanding Grade School Band
Sponsored by: The Ryan Family
2023 New York Naval Cadets

Walter Garvin Award (Founded 1993)
Outstanding Children's Irish Dance Group
Sponsored by: Walter Garvin Jr.
2022 McHugh School of Irish Dance
2023 The Coyle School of Irish Dance

Marie C. Burns Award
 (Founded 2003)
Outstanding Adult Dance Group
Sponsored by: Philadelphia Emerald Society
2023 Tara Gael Dancers

Joseph E. Montgomery Award (Founded 2006)
Outstanding AOH and/or LAOH Divisions
Sponsored by: AOH Div. 65 Joseph E. Montgomery
2023 Division 17 AOH / LAOH

Joseph J. "Banjo" McCoy Award (Founded 2006)
Outstanding Fraternal Organization
Sponsored by: Sandy Muller & Muller Beverage
2023 Local 542 Operating Engineers

James F. Cawley Parade Director's Award (Founded 2006)
Outstanding Irish Performance Chosen by the Parade Director
Sponsored by: AOH Division 87 Port Richmond
2023 IBEW Local 98

Father Kevin C. Trautner Award (Founded 2008)
Outstanding Religious Organization that displays their Irish Heritage.
Sponsored by: Father Kevin Gallagher
2023 St. Malachy College Orchestra - Belfast, Ireland

Maureen McDade McGrory Award (Founded 2008)
Outstanding Children's Dance Group Exemplifying the Spirit of Irish Culture Through Traditional Dance.
Sponsored by: McDade School of Irish Dance
2023 Celtic Flame School of Irish Dance

James P. “Jim” Kilgallen Award (Founded 2011)
Outstanding Organization Involving Charitable Endeavors.
Sponsored by: 
St. Patrick’s Day Observance Association Board
2023 West Catholic Alumni Association

Mary Theresa Dougherty Award 
(Founded 2012)
Outstanding Organization Dedicated to Serving the Needs of God's People.
Sponsored by: St. Patrick’s Day Observance Association Board
2023 The Friendly Sons & Daughters of St. Patrick

Paul J. Phillips Jr. Award (Founded 2012)
Outstanding Parade Marshal.
Sponsored by: Robert M. Gessler
2023 Kevin Hassett 

Philip 'Knute' Bonner Award (Founded 2013)
Outstanding organization dedicated to preserve our freedom.
Sponsored by: Mary Beth Bonner Ryan
2023 82nd Airborne

Joseph J. Bradley Award 
(Founded 2017) 
Outstanding dance group for originality and artistic interpretation of Irish Dance.
Sponsored By: Michael, Linda Mickey & Colin Bradley
2023 McDade-Cara School of Irish Dance Championship Dancers

Thomas C. Finnegan Award (Founded 2019)
ost spirited group of parade spectators showing pride of heritage .
Sponsored By: The Boyce Family
2023 The Bonner Family Originally From SW Philly

Colin P. Bradley
Parade Director           All Information is on our website at

St. Patrick’s Day Observance Assoc.
P.O. Box 323
Media, PA  19063



Sunday March 12, 2023

The Parade Mass celebrated by Archbishop Nelson Perez and Chaplain Father Kevin Gallagher, procession led by Joe Tobin and the Philadelphia Emerald Society Pipe band, Bishop Shanahan High School Choir & Cantor Karen Boyce McCollum will be held at 9:15 AM at St. Patrick's Church, 20th and Locusts Streets Philadelphia.

The Parade starts at 11:15 AM at 16th & JFK and ends at 5th & Market St.

TV is CBS3 affiliate CW Philly and starts Noon to 3:00 PM.

It will be rebroadcast on Friday March 17th on CBS3 from 9:00 to Noon. 

Our theme for the 2023 parade is "St. Patrick, Let There Be Peace." We are calling to St. Patrick for peace in this world, peace in our city and neighborhoods. We are also commemorating the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday agreement which provides us with an opportunity to reflect on the success of the peace process in Ireland and to ask St. Patrick for continued progress on this journey.

We are looking forward to celebrating our 2023 Philadelphia St. Patrick's Day parade with all of you!

 Colin P. Bradley
Parade Director

Please visit our website and our Facebook Page, Philadelphia St. Patrick’s Day Parade for final details!


Thank you to the Philadelphia Police Department and their families. You are in our prayers!

Want to show your support? Become a sponsor of the Philadelphia St. Patrick's Day Parade. There are a variety of sponsorship levels available. Contact The St. Patrick's Day Observance Association for more information.

St. Patrick's Day Observance Association
P.O. Box 36629
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Parade Information
Mass Information
Parade History
Parade Themes
Award Descriptions
Award Winners
Photo Gallery
Commodore John Barry
Parade Application
New Participants
Returning Participants
Parade Regulations
Privacy Statement
Judging Criteria
Marshal Information
Meeting Dates
Marshal Assignments
Marshals Alpha
Parade Route
Parade Line of March
Staging Area Map
Bus Pickup
Performing Area

The Philadelphia St. Patrick's Day Parade is presented each year by The St. Patrick's Day Observance Association. For more information on the association and how you can become a member, complete the information below.

Meeting Dates
Calendar of Events
Golf Outing
Awards Ceremony
Board Members
Past Presidents
Grand Marshals
Parade Directors
Ring of Honor
Parade Chaplains
Other Information
Dancing Group's Info
Contact Us
Copyright © 2013 The St. Patrick's Day Observance Association. All rights reserved.